FOR APPROVAL: May 9, 2022

SCHOOL DISTRICT OF THE MENOMONIE AREA MINUTES OF A SPECIAL REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE CENTER 215 PINE AVENUE E, MENOMONIE, WISCONSIN MONDAY, APRIL 25, 2022, 5:30 P.M.

Call to Order

District Administrator Joe Zydowsky welcomed everyone and called the special meeting of the Board of Education of the School District of the Menomonie Area to order at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, April 25, 2022, in the boardroom of the Administrative Service Center at 215 Pine Ave. E., Menomonie, Wisconsin.

Seating of Newly Elected Members

Dr. Zydowsky recognized board members Rachel Henderson, Abe Smith, and Dominique Stewart who were duly elected on April 5, 2022, noting that each had taken the oath of office prior to tonight's meeting.

Roll Call and Quorum

Roll call showed nine board members present: Rachel Henderson, Mark Hillman, Tanya Husby, Karl Palmer, Amy Riddle-Swanson, Charlie Schneider, Angie Skillings, Abe Smith, and Dominique Stewart. Administrators in attendance were Joe Zydowsky, Samantha Hoyt, Tonia Kowieski, Katie Krueger, Leah Theder, Michelle Kloser, Kristin Humphrey and Lori Smith. Also in attendance were Recording Secretary Jenny Mikesell, and videographer Steve Hanson. Electors and/or others registering attendance included Josie Pillman, James Stewart, Elena Marshall, Suzette Nieman, Tricia Thompson, Scott Parker, Jodie Olson, Lynne Hausman, and Dennis Hausman.

Election of Board Officers

Dr. Zydowsky reviewed the method for voting and opened the floor for nominations for president. Palmer nominated Charlie Schneider, Smith nominated Dominique Stewart, and Stewart nominated Karl Palmer. Palmer declined nomination for president. Riddle-Swanson made a motion to cast votes by secret paper ballot. Skillings seconded the motion. The motion was approved by a 9-0 voice vote. Board members cast their vote by secret paper ballot. Ballots cast were 5 votes for Schneider and 4 votes for Stewart. Charlie Schneider was elected President.

Hillman nominated Karl Palmer, as vice-president. Riddle-Swanson made a motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot. Hillman seconded the motion. Palmer was elected Vice President on a unanimous voice vote.

Smith nominated Rachel Henderson, and Skillings nominated Tanya Husby, as treasurer. Board members cast their vote by secret paper ballot. Ballots cast were 5 votes for Henderson and 4 votes for Husby. Henderson was elected Treasurer.

Rachel Henderson nominated Abe Smith, as clerk. Palmer moved to close the nominations and cast a unanimous vote. Hillman seconded the motion. Abe Smith was elected Clerk.

Approve Committee Assignments of Board Members

President Schneider asked for volunteers and made committee assignments for board members, as follows:

(1) Health/Medical Insurance Committee Rep

Karl Palmer

(2) High School Graduation Delegates (Class of 2022) Delegates - Amy Riddle-Swanson, Angie

Skillings, and Karl Palmer Alternate - Dominque Stewart

(3) TIF Review Board Rep Charlie Schneider

(4) CESA Convention Delegate Tanya Husby

(5) WASB Convention Delegate/Alternate Delegate - Angie Skillings

Alternate - Amy Riddle-Swanson

(6) Transportation Contract Rep Mark Hillman

(7) Quality Improvement Committee Karl Palmer, Abe Smith

(8) Diversity Committee Angie Skillings, Dominique Stewart, and

Amy Riddle-Swanson

Appointment of Deputy Clerk

Palmer made a motion, seconded by Smith, to appoint Jenny Mikesell, administrative assistant, to the District Administrator and Board of Education as deputy clerk. Jenny Mikesell was appointed as Deputy Clerk on a unanimous voice vote.

Set Date and Venue of Annual Meeting

Husby made a motion, seconded by Hillman, that the district shall hold its annual meeting in the Lecture Hall of Menomonie High School on August 22, 2022, at 6:00 p.m. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Establish Starting Times for Regular and Committee of the Whole Meetings

Skillings made a motion seconded by Hillman that the board establishes the starting time for regular meetings as 5:45 p.m. on the second Monday of each month and the starting time for the committee of the whole as 5:45 p.m. on the fourth Monday of each month. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Adjournment

Palmer made a motion, seconded by Husby, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 5:56 p.m.

/s/ Abe Smith
Abe Smith, Clerk
jm
Approved: