For Approval: May 10, 2021

MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE SCHOOL DISTRICT OF THE MENOMONIE AREA MENOMONIE, WISCONSIN APRIL 26, 2021

Call to Order

District Administrator Joe Zydowsky welcomed everyone and called the special meeting of the Board of Education of the School District of the Menomonie Area to order at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, April 26, 2021, in the boardroom of the Administrative Service Center at 215 Pine Ave. E., Menomonie, Wisconsin.

Seating of Newly Elected Members

Mr. Zydowsky recognized board members Mark Hillman, Karl Palmer, and Angie Skillings who were duly elected on April 6, 2021, noting that each had taken the oath of office prior to tonight's meeting.

Roll Call and Quorum

Roll call showed nine board members present: Chris Freeman, Mark Hillman, Tanya Husby, Clint Moses, Karl Palmer, Amy Riddle-Swanson, Charlie Schneider, Angie Skillings, and David Styer. Administrators in attendance were Joe Zydowsky, Samantha Hoyt, Tonia Kowieski, Katie Krueger, Brian Seguin, and Leah Theder. Also in attendance were Recording Secretary Jamie Krista, and videographer Steve Hanson.

Election of Board Officers

(8) Diversity Committee

Dr. Zydowsky reviewed the method for voting and opened the floor for nominations for president. Moses nominated Dave Styer, as president. Palmer made a motion, seconded by Skillings, to close and cast votes. David Styer was elected President on a unanimous roll call vote and assumed the chair.

Husby nominated Charlie Schneider as vice-president. Freeman made a motion, seconded by Skillings, to close and cast votes. Charlie Schneider was elected as Vice-President on a unanimous voice vote.

Schneider nominated Tanya Husby as treasurer. Palmer made a motion, seconded by Freeman, to close and cast votes. Tanya Husby was elected as Treasurer on a unanimous voice vote.

Freeman nominated Clint Moses as clerk. Schneider made a motion, seconded by Skillings, to close and cast votes. Clinton Moses was elected as Clerk on a unanimous voice vote.

Approve Committee Assignments of Board Members

President Styer asked for volunteers and made committee assignments for board members, as follows:

(1)	Health/Medical Insurance Committee Rep	Karl Palmer
(2)	High School Graduation Delegates (Class of 2021)	Delegates – Amy Riddle-Swanson, Dave Styer, Clint Moses, and Karl Palmer
(3)	TIF Review Board Rep	Charlie Schneider
(4)	CESA Convention Delegate	Tanya Husby
(5)	WASB Convention Delegate/Alternate	Delegate – Amy Riddle-Swanson Alternate – Angie Skillings
(6)	Transportation Contract Rep	David Styer
(7)	Quality Improvement Committee	Karl Palmer, Charlie Schneider

Chris Freeman, Amy Riddle-Swanson

Appointment of Deputy Clerk

Riddle-Swanson made a motion, seconded by Skilling, to appoint the administrative assistant to the District Administrator and Board of Education as deputy clerk. The administrative assistant to the District Administrator and Board of Education was appointed as deputy clerk on a unanimous voice vote.

Set Date and Venue of Annual Meeting

Schneider made a motion, seconded by Husby, that the district shall hold its annual meeting in the lecture hall of Menomonie High School on August 23, 2021, at 6:00 p.m. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Establish Starting Times for Regular and Committee of the Whole Meetings

Freeman made a motion, seconded by Riddle-Swanson, that the board establish the starting time for regular meetings as 5:30 p.m. on the second Monday of each month and the starting time for the committee of the whole as 5:30 p.m. on the fourth Monday of each month. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote.

Adjournment

Skillings made a motion, seconded by Husby, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by unanimous voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 5:44 p.m.

/s/ Clinton Moses
Clinton Moses, Clerk

jlk

Minutes approved: May 10, 2021